Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 10th, 2010

Building Characters

Since most stories are character driven having great characters is essential. My secret is keeping character sheets. All writers have some way of keeping track their character bios.

I interview my characters. I have a list of questions that I ask them. To choose a name I try to find out where they are from, when they were born and a little about their parents if I can.

Then I have them look in a mirror and describe themselves. I have their worst enemy describe them. I will have their lover describe them. And maybe a parent or sibling describe them.

You learn a lot about your characters when you view them from others perspective.

 

Well I’m done rambling for now. I must get back to interviewing characters for my next book.

Read Full Post »